Episode 2: 5 Things to Remember When Registering as a New Student

As I write this, I’m waiting out the lunch break of the U.P. Health Dept., where I need to undergo a physical exam to continue my enrollment into law school. I fathom that, by now, I should have at least been halfway done, had I done the medical examination much earlier.

To wit, I was lucky to have even made the online enlistment cutoff, having submitted my subjects list past the posted 5:00 PM deadline last Saturday. Whether the intervention was divine or technological, I owe it my thanks.

So, as a lesson to myself and as future reference for others like myself who are returning to student life after years of grinding it out in the workaday, here are 5 things to remember when registering as a new student (in no particular order):

– Bring everything you might conceivably need.

Forms, IDs, pens, etc. When in doubt on if you’ll need it or not, err on the side of caution and bring it anyway. At most, you stand to lose a few pounds carrying around some extra weight.

– Keep yourself informed on the relevant schedules at all times.

My main mistake was that I had gone to the Office of the Secretary much too early, and afterwards never followed-up on the registration schedule, resulting in me doing everything at the last possible moment. Staying updated means never being caught off-guard with some requirement that needs to be done *before* everything else.

In addition to this, if you know when the cutoffs are, then always try to do whatever you can in advance. Remember, on registration day, time is NEVER on your side, so you want to have as much extra time as possible.

– Tank up, you’ve got a long day ahead of you.

Especially if you’re like me and are on a strict budget (meaning, no Starbucks treats for you). Eat and drink a lot before you leave the house. At best, have a water container with you (the reusable ones, please be kind to nature and avoid bottled water, it’s the same damn thing anyway) so you won’t get dehydrated.

As a corollary: don’t forget to relieve yourself of *ahem* excess baggage before you go. Public access restrooms tend to be rather disgusting.

– Wear something comfortable yet presentable.

Chances are you’ll be doing a lot of walking, so those 3-inch heels might not be ideal. Besides, if ever you need to submit pictures (which you should have already had taken some time before, see above), they will only take a face photo, not a full-body one. This is class enrollment, not a beauty contest application.

– And finally, keep your chin up and smile!

No one likes a whiner. Stay positive! If you’ve followed the previous 4 tips, then the worst that can happen is that something completely out of your control messes things up – and since it’s out of your control, why lose brain cells and add wrinkles to your skin worrying about it?

Happy registration day!

Leave a Reply

