Episode 14: A Timely Response to a Late Reply

More than a year ago, I wrote an open letter to a Mr. King del Rosario, who at that time was campaigning for presidential candidate Gibo Teodoro. I never expected a reply, and even if a reply was forthcoming, I never expected a response really worth reading.

Then surprise, surprise, I got this in my Twitter tonight:

“My Late Reply to “An Open Letter to King del Rosario” from “The Art of Hoping” Blog @raggster http://t.co/WPmG82X #PNoy #GiboTeodoro”

Intrigued, I read it. And as predicted, I got a response that was not really worth reading. But if you want a textbook example of a person in denial, feel free to read it here.

And so, I am reminded that, despite the elections being over, people still can’t get over the fact that Noynoy Aquino is President. Even after a year! Some people really have trouble moving on.

In any case, in keeping with the principle, “No good deed goes unpunished,” I will respond anyway. Generally, King only said two things worth talking about, so those are the only things I’ll address.

(1) “I tweeted last night that “although I honestly enjoy poking fun about PNoy, I would honestly prefer if all I could post & tweet are nothing but praises!”

What you tweet, King, is your decision. No one holds a gun to your head and tell you what or what not to tweet (you can thank PNoy’s mom for that). So if you prefer to tweet “nothing but praises,” no one’s stopping you. Although I would criticize you equally for doing both.

I have said it before and I’ll say it again. Be productive, or step aside for others to do so. Bitching about how “things haven’t changed,” how “incompetent and ineffective PNoy is” is all fun and games in the name of free speech, but in the final analysis it does not contribute anything substantial or significant to fixing our nation’s problems.

In a way, it may be my fault for having so many inside stories in government, that I can see the bigger picture of improvement better than the run-of-the-mill blogger sipping latte while blogging about what he read in the newspaper – which makes that person 4 levels removed from the actual sources of information. (Batu-bato sa langit!) It is unfortunate that not everyone is in my position, hence my constant appeal to have the FOI bill prioritized.

Nevertheless. “Productive” isn’t simply just showering PNoy with praises. I certainly don’t. But I will not abide useless criticism.

As for the second:

(2) “Now, people from your camp may still have a lot of reasons to say that PNoy is indeed the President we’ve all been waiting for. But, to quote you, my dear countryman, please, leave your delusions as well at the door.”

And the problem, dear King, is that you still consider those who support this current administration as “your camp.” As opposed to whose other camp? GMA’s? Gibo’s? Yours?

You talk about the smirk on your face when you read the news, but can you imagine the smile on mine whenever I read the news? More and more evidence of rampant and systematic corruption is unearthed on almost a daily basis. TESDA. PCSO. As well as all the developments that have taken place that will help prosecution move forward, such as Merci’s resignation. Indirectly, even the battle for the appointment of the next Ombudsman has become another proxy war against GMA.

You blogged about supporting Heidi Mendoza, but you failed to understand that all other things being equal, Heidi Mendoza and others like her would have NEVER surfaced, EXCEPT under PNoy’s administration. I argued during the campaign that PNoy’s strength was never in his technical ability, but in his capability to bring trust back into government. Heidi Mendoza, Col. Rabusa, and others like them simply prove what I’ve been saying all along. Under the administration of a person beholden to GMA, you can bet your movie reviews that we would have had another 6 years of blatant cover-ups, scandals, and “business as usual” corruption by government, all unpunished and untouchable – all at the expense of public money and development initiatives meant for the poor.

You want this country to change? Well guess what: IT’S NOT GONNA CHANGE FOR YOU UNLESS YOU BECOME THAT CHANGE. Whining about your losing candidate and shrieking “I told you so!!!” at every bit of negative news that comes out is really just old hat, even a monkey with a bag of hammers can do that. It takes real dedication to change, to go past what the media says and go down to the REAL issues, and actually DO something about it.

I told you before to leave your delusions of adequacy at the door.

Today, I ask you to leave another delusion behind:

Relevance.

3 responses to “Episode 14: A Timely Response to a Late Reply

  1. I voted for Gibo. But the majority of the Filipinos have spoken. And that “King” person is doing his job properly if he’s goal is to able to say “I told you so”. Your camp? Goodness! A nation divided by politicking really would have a hard time going anywhere… I agree raggster, be the change! Its high time politicians and their avid supporters learn this.

  2. i didn’t vote for PNoy, and i do relate with the i-told-you-so-smirks when i read news of the weak leadership and inconsistency specially when dealing with his friends. but yes i had to accept the public vote too. (may i just say that the revelations of corruption are not to PNoy’s credit, but to the whistle blowers, though he did provide the kind of support that they need)

    i think my point is, no president will ever be good enough for everyone. they all have their strong and weak points. if Gibo won, and made decisions promoting GMA’s previous programs, then the PNoys supporters will in turn do their i-told-you-so-smirks. i think this is a point where people are getting to know their president and still have hang ups on what-could-have-been’s.

    I think, given the intense fanaticism, if PNoy didn’t win, his supporters would be at the forefront of i-told-you-so’s for whatever corruption issue that would surface afterwards.

    so i think the whole thing is just a phase. I didn’t vote for PNoy, and i’m hearing more rants of him becoming a dummy of his cabinet. and i think most people who didn’t vote for him feel the same way. but just because we do, doesn’t mean we don’t support him. of course we want the good of the country too. so we cross our fingers and hope for the best.

    • Very insightful comment Marianne (I’m assuming that’s your name from your email add). My only response would be this: Whether or not you voted for/like/support PNoy, I think we can ALL agree that during the campaign, what we wanted was the best of our country. Everyone, on all sides, was so passionate about it! I think that our approach to criticism should reflect this passion. To my mind, “I told you so” does NOT reflect any passion for change and development. Say “That’s wrong.” Fine. Say “PNoy should have done X instead.” Sure. But “I told you so?” Doesn’t help, doesn’t add anything substantial to the discussion.

      What irks me the most is that by and large, this administration is the most accessible to everyone, yet we still have people griping on the Interwebs without even bothering to reach out! For all its faults, the Malacanang Comm Group is very easy to contact and surprisingly accommodating with feedback. I personally recommend following Manuel Quezon III (twitter.com/mlq3) and Abi Valte (twitter.com/Abi_Valte) on their Twitter accounts. They often respond to comments sent their way when their time allows.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

