Episode 16: Interlude – The One-Liners Blog Post

Today was going to be another regular day at law school – until my gout said, “Not so fast, bruddah!” And faster than you can say “Arcoxia,” I’m lying in bed resting my otherwise bloated knee.

I know that I should be getting to Part 2 of my “Divorced from Reality” post, but there have been so many interesting developments in the past few weeks that I’ve been itching to comment on them all. In fact, I’ve managed to do so in many cases through my Disqus account, but that’s left the Letters hanging a bit dry. So, without further ado, I give you: The One-Liner Posts.

Here’s how this will work: I’ll mention a topic, and just sum up my view on it in 140 characters or less. That’s the equivalent of a single Tweet, for those who are being nit-picky.

Here we go!

Resignation of Sen. Zubiri: It’s clearly a political move to avoid the shame of losing the recount and gain sympathy votes for 2013. Nothing honorable about it.

Koko Pimentel Sworn in as Senator: Dude, there’s no such word as “inhustisya.” Get a better speechwriter.

Christopher Lao: He’s a much nicer guy than GMA led people to believe. GMA 7 News = douchebags in disguise. Netizens = generally rabid, condescending mob.

Mideo Cruz and “Kulo”: Offensive? Yes. Should we censor it? Absolutely not. Free speech and expression > hurt religious feelings. Even the UN says so.

US Credit Rating Downgrade: This should force us to seriously rethink our economic ties with the US.

UST’s World Record for Largest Human Cross: I call shenanigans. The record should go to the drivers and passengers along EDSA and Ortigas Ave. every Friday evening.

The Philippine Dragonboat Team’s 5 Gold Medals in Florida: I will never understand why we support teams that suck/don’t win for crap, but disown teams that are blatantly awesome.

Paris Hilton’s Philippine Visit: I couldn’t care less, except to tell you that I couldn’t care less.

And there you have it. Next episode, as promised: Divorced from Reality, Part 2!

5 responses to “Episode 16: Interlude – The One-Liners Blog Post

  1. Re: Dboat, turns out it’s a damned if you do, damned if you don’t situation. So PSC goes along with anything POC says, as POC is the international facing one. IOC says Dragonboat is a sub-discipiline of Canoe-Kayak, thus is handled by the IF for Canoe Kayak. POC has to take the IOC line or risk getting blacklisted by the IOC, and jeopardizing all other Olympic athletes. OTOH, POC not doing anything to help means media blackeye points.

    So for PSC to move, it has to rescind the agreement with POC to only support IOC-backed NSAs.

    For POC to move, it puts the whole Olympic program at risk.

    I wish they’d go Solomonic on this and have PDBT report administratively to PCKF, pero walang pakialamanan to satisfy IOC and POC. But since there’s money involved (either in sponsorship or government funding), umaasa lang ako.

    • For me that goes to the heart of the problem. The law provides for this system, and look at where our national sports teams are. It’s time to re-evaluate the law and amend/repeal it if necessary.

  2. I have no intelligent comments for most of these but these two:

    The Philippine Dragonboat Team’s 5 Gold Medals in Florida: I will never understand why we support teams that suck/don’t win for crap, but disown teams that are blatantly awesome.

    Paris Hilton’s Philippine Visit: I couldn’t care less, except to tell you that I couldn’t care less.

    Agree x infinity!

    Anyway, yun lang…musta na :)?

  3. Pingback: Episode 21: The One-Liners Blog Post, Part Deux | The Straight Edge Advocate·

Leave a Reply

